ImageI just tried my first ebooks sample through play.google.com (Google’s play store). In India, we finally have the ability to buy PlayStore books. They are expensive (really expensive). But still, they are available, which is great. However, I just found out that the Google Play Books (unless a scanned copy is available), do not have the accurate page numbers for academic references. What is ironic is that the book I was testing, was available to preview on Google Books with its academic page numbers (as we’re used to). But not on the Google Play Store. Now, that’s a downer! Why would I pay Rs. 2000+ for a book I cannot cite in my research?

To see what I mean, check out the two links of the sample pages of the introduction.

First link on Google Books (as we would expect google to show its books).

http://books.google.co.in/books?id=JTAHyyZJM4kC&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false

Second link on Google’s play store.

https://play.google.com/books/reader?id=JTAHyyZJM4kC&printsec=frontcover&output=reader&authuser=0&hl=en&pg=GBS.PA1

