classroomAfter being back at SAIACS for over-a-month, I can confess that I’ve had an intense time. Within a few weeks of getting back, I had the privilege of teaching Theological Method: Sources and Criteria to the MTh in Theology class.

I haven’t had time to put down all my reflections… though I will… probably in this post. However, I can say that I really enjoyed the experience of teaching (after studying non-stop for 8 months). But more importantly, I achieved my central goal of being more encouraging than discouraging, a lesson I directly attribute to my McGill experience.

Apart from that, I also liked the focus I was able to bring to the course… especially bringing historical issues to the fore (rather than keeping the subject only theoretical).

I did not achieve in all my goals, though. I wanted to incorporate more classroom discussion, but instead I ended up speaking more than I wanted to. Plus, some of the readings were a little more than was manageable, and while I was able to correct that mistake, still it can be a little discouraging.

My biggest failure, however, was that I wasn’t able to spend as much time with the students. I wish I was able to work with them, side-by-side, with articles and assignments. But instead, I became the teacher who leaves it up to the students to contact me. I attribute this to stress of coming back new to SAIACS (I was just getting to know the students), and even the exhaustion of having a baby. Still… that’s one aspect I really want to improve.

In all, the experience was good for the students as well, I think… though I haven’t seen the class evaluations. But from one-to-one chats. I know they left the class more aware and feeling more capable than when they entered. And that certainly was a goal.

