pen“Circling” is the term I have begun to use to understand my study-approach. I rarely approach a topic directly. Instead, I tend to circle the topic, read around the topic, and only eventually get to the centre of the task I had initially set out to do.

So for instance if I need to read a theologian, then I will read whatever I get about the related ideas of the theologian, the time of the theologian, the philosophy that under-girds the thought of the theologian. And only later, much much later, do I get down to actually reading the theologian (in detail).

Of course some people think this is good… for broad perspectives… but I find it most unhelpful in terms of writing a dissertation, when I have already read and need to get down to writing… but I “circle” even here.

So, my current situation is that I need to write Chapter Two. I know what I need to do. But I haven’t started? Why? Because I am writing a paper on Bernard Lonergan that may be useful to my chapter two. And I’m writing a paper on Balagangadhara, that may also be useful for chapter two. Thus, while my reading/writing should relate directly to the “methodology for a theology of religion” (my concern in Chapter two), I’m doing sub-themes of the chapter, at the moment.

I feel this is poor study skills… but that’s mainly because of the lack of time. In terms of actual learning, imbibing, reflecting, it seems the right way to go for me. Yet, because I am a slow reader… and time is running away from me… I have decided that these are poor study skills.

But can I change? Nope. I try, but I just can’t! oh, woe is me!

