While sitting for the long/complex and challenging Hebrew exam, I couldn’t help but feel excited that my Hebrew language requirements were coming to an end. I know, I know, I need to keep using Hebrew et al. I also don’t want to be that kind of student who only studies for “requirements” sake and when stuff is over, then it’s on to the next, disconnected pursuit. Neither is me. Rather, what I’m saying is that I was happy that this phase, and it literally is a phase, has come to an end.

And now before me lies my Thesis Proposal (metaphorically speaking of course. I would love to have literally been seeing my Thesis Proposal before me!!!)

According to the plan, after Hebrew I begin working on my Thesis proposal.

of course I still don’t have a mentor… but the plan to submit by March 2007 has changed and I would possibly be making my proposal sometime in… August 2007 perhaps??? Not sure, but that’s probably the goal.

I am excited and scared at having to start the long journey. And I already know what I have to do right now. I have over 30 journal articles and dissertations on recent works on theology of religion/s and I need to read/study those and see if there is a thesis in what I propose to do. Plus, then I have to start constructing my own proposal. Wow… that’s a lot of work.

But then, back to feeling I was having during the exam. This is where I wanted to be. I struggled to stay focused during my Hebrew study, because I wanted to jump to the “meat” of my study, but I had to wait… wait to finish Hebrew. Now that I have waitied I rejoice.

